Religious Studies Faculty

Full-Time Faculty
Photo
Name
Contact Information
Research Areas
photo of winni sullivan Winnifred F Sullivan
Professor; Chair
wfsulliv@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 228
Office hours: by appointment
(812) 855-3531
Comparative study of the intersection of religion and law, Anthropology of Law, European Union law more>
Photo of Heather Blair Heather Blair
Assistant Professor
heablair@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 211
Office hours: Tue 4:00-5:00 and by appt.
Pre-modern history of Japanese Religions, Buddhism and East Asian Religions more>
Photo of Candy Gunther Brown Candy Gunther Brown
Professor
browncg@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 331
Office hours: M 8:45-9:15am, 12:45-2:45pm; W 8:45-9:15am, 2:00-2:45pm; and by appt.
Christianity; healing; alternative medicine; science; First Amendment; ethics; print culture; globalization more>
Photo of Constance Furey Constance M. Furey
Associate Professor,
Assoc Chair
cfurey@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 226
Office hours: Wed 10:00-12:00
Catholic and Protestant Reformations; religious thought, literature, and community formation more>
Photo of David Haberman David L. Haberman
Professor
dhaberma@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 215
On leave fall 2014
South Asian arts and aesthetics, ritual studies, theories of religion, religion and ecology more>
Photo of Cooper Harriss Cooper Harriss
Assistant Professor
charriss@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 332
Office hours: M 1:00-2:00pm, W 11:30-12:30pm, and by appt.
Religion in the Americas, Irony and Performativity, Religion and Literature, Race and Religion more>
Photo of Nur Amali Ibrahim Nur Amali Ibrahim
Assistant Professor
nai@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 201
Office hours: Th 2:30-3:30 and by appt.
Islam in the modern world, Islam in Indonesia, pedagogy and socialization, Social movements, Religion and media more>
Photo of Sarah Imhoff Sarah Imhoff
Assistant Professor
seimhoff@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 223
On leave fall 2014

Gender and American Jewish history, race and Jewishness, Rabbinic literature, American Religious history more>
Photo of Michael Ing Michael Ing
Assistant Professor
ming@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 203
On leave fall 2014
Confucianism, Ritual Theory, Religious Ethics, Theories of Religion, Chinese Thought more>
Photo of R. Kevin Jaques R. Kevin Jaques
Associate Professor
rjaques@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 209B
Office hours: Tue 10:00-12:00 and by appt.
Islamic Studies, Religious Hermeneutics, Islamic Law and Theology, Medieval Islamic Legal History, Islam in SE Asia more>
Photo of Shaul Magid Shaul Magid
Professor
smagid@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 225
Office hours: Tue 1:45-2:45 and by appt.
Kabbala, medieval and modern Jewish philosophy, Hasidism, gender and religion, Jewish ethics, more>
photo of Rebecca Manring Rebecca Manring
Associate Professor
rmanring@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 213
Office hours: Wed 12:00-2:00
(812) 855-6756
Asian languages and literature (Sanskrit, Bengali), religions of South Asia, formation of religious community, iconography more>
Photo of Patrick Michelson Patrick Michelson
Assistant Professor
plmichel@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 333
Office hours: Tue, Thur 3:00-4:00
Russian Orthodox thought, Modern Christian thought, European intellectual history more>
Photo of Jason Mohktarian Jason Mokhtarian
Assistant Professor
jmokhtar@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 334
On leave fall 2014
Ancient Judaism, Rabbinics, Jews of Ancient Persia, Talmud in its Iranian Context, Ancient Iranian Studies more>
Photo of Eva Mroczek Eva Mroczek
Assistant Professor
emroczek@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 207
On leave fall 2014
Hebrew Bible, Early Jewish scriptural interpretation, Jewish reading and writing in antiquity, Book History more>
Photo of Richard Nance Richard Nance
Associate Professor,
DUS
rfnance@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 221
Office hours: Wed 2:00-4:00
Indian and Tibetan Buddhist history, philosophy, rhetoric, and ritual more>
Photo of Jeremy Schott Jeremy Schott
Associate Professor
jmschott@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 209A
Office hours: Tu & Th 11:30-12:30
Religions of the Late Ancient and Byzantine Mediterranean and Near East more>
Photo of Steve Selka Stephen Selka
Associate Professor
sselka@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 205
On leave fall 2014
Religion, identity, and politics, identity and social movements, Brazil and Africa diaspora, urban anthropology more>
Photo of Lisa Sideris Lisa Sideris
Associate Professor
lsideris@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 227
Office hours: Mon 3:30-5:00
Religious environmental ethics and religion and science more>
Photo of Aaron Stalnaker Aaron Stalnaker
Associate Professor,
DGS
astalnak@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 219
Office hours:Wed 4:00-5:00 and by appt
Comparative religious ethics, Chinese and Christian thought, moral philosophy, theories and philosophy of religions more>
Photo of James Swan Tuite James Swan Tuite
Visiting Assistant Professor
jswantui@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 007
Office hours:
Religious ethics, modern western philosophical and religious thought, theory of religion, psychiatric ethics more>
photo of Sonia Velázquez Sonia Velázquez
Assistant Professor
velazqus@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 326
Available Spring 2015
Relationship of beauty and holiness, Religion, secularization and modernity, Conversion narratives more>
Affiliated Faculty
Photo
Name
Contact Information
Research Areas
Photo of Asma Afsaruddin Asma Afsaruddin
Adjunct Professor
aafsarud@indiana.edu
Memorial Hall M17
(812) 856-7347
Islamic religious and political thought, Contemporary Islamic movements, Inter-faith relations, Islamic feminism(s), more>
Photo of Jamsheed Choksy Jamsheed Choksy
Adjunct Professor
jchoksy@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 157

Ancient and modern Zoroastrianism, Islamic studies, history of religions more>
Photo of Daniel Conkle Daniel O. Conkle
Adjunct Professor
conkle@indiana.edu
Law Building 331
Religious liberty, religion and law, the role of religion in American politics and public life more>
no pic Devin A. DeWeese
Adjunct Professor
deweese@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 343 (812) 855-2298
Religious history of Islamic Central and Inner Asia, Islam in Tsarist, Soviet, and post-Soviet Central Asia more>
Photo of Paul Gutjahr Paul Gutjahr
Professor
pgutjahr@indiana.edu
Ballantine Hall 426

American religious and intellectual thought, religious publishing more>
Photo of Patricia Ingham Patricia Ingham
Professor
pingham@indiana.edu
Ballantine Hall 442
Chaucer, Arthurian legend, texts of Medieval Romance more>
Photo of Edward Linenthal Edward Linenthal
Adjunct Professor
etl@indiana.edu
Ballantine Hall 808
Public history, studies in American memory, contemporary American religion, religion, war, and genocide more>
photo of herbert marks Herbert Marks
Adjunct Professor
marks@indiana.edu
Ballantine Hall 914
(812) 855-7935
Biblical studies more>
Emeriti Faculty
Photo
Name
Contact Information
Research Areas
photo of jim ackerman James S. Ackerman
Professor Emeritus
ackerman@indiana.edu Religion and literature of Israel and the Ancient Near East, Bible as literature more>
photo of james hart James G. Hart
Professor Emeritus
hart@indiana.edu Phenomenology, philosophy of religion, philosophical theology more>
photo of gerald larson Gerald J. Larson
Professor Emeritus
glarson@indiana.edu Indian philosophy, cross-cultural philosophy of religion, history of religions, classical and Vedic Sanskrit studies more>
photo of david smith David H. Smith
Professor Emeritus
smithd@indiana.edu Religious ethics, theological ethics, medical ethics, ethics and philanthropy, teaching ethics more>
photo of stephen stein Stephen J. Stein
Chancellor's Professor Emeritus
stein@indiana.edu American religious history, early American history, new religious movements, American studies more>
photo of mary jo weaver Mary Jo Weaver
Professor Emerita
weaverm@indiana.edu American Catholicism, contemporary Christianity, women and religion, mysticism and spirituality more>