Religious Studies Faculty

Full-Time Faculty
Photo
Name
Contact Information
Research Areas
Photo of Constance Furey Constance M. Furey
Professor and Chair
cfurey@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 226/231 (Chair)
Office hours: Mon 2-3,
Tues 3-4
(812)856-4535
Catholic and Protestant Reformations; religious thought, literature, and community formation more>
Photo of Heather Blair Heather Blair
Associate Professor
heablair@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 211
Office hours:
Tues 10:30-12:00
(812)856-4528
Pre-modern history of Japanese Religions, Buddhism and East Asian Religions more>
Photo of Candy Gunther Brown Candy Gunther Brown
Professor
browncg@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 331
Office hours:
Mon 12:45-2:45
& by appt
(812)856-4529
Christianity; healing; alternative medicine; science; First Amendment; ethics; print culture; globalization more>
Photo of Laura Carlson Hasler Laura Carlson Hasler
Assistant Professor
lcarlso@iu.edu
Sycamore Hall 203
Office hours:
Tues/Thurs 1:45-3:15
Texts, Textuality, and Historiography in Ancient Judaism; History of the Book; Gender and Sexuality in Antiquity; American Biblical Interpretation more>
photo of J. Kameron Carter J. Kameron Carter
Professor
jkcarte@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 329
Office hours: Tues 10:30-12:00
Environmental studies, philosophy of religion, religion and literary and cultural imagination, American religions
Photo of David Haberman David L. Haberman
Professor
dhaberma@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 215
Office hours:
Tues 2:00-4:00
(812)856-4548
South Asian arts and aesthetics, ritual studies, theories of religion, religion and ecology more>
Photo of Cooper Harriss Cooper Harriss
Assistant Professor
charriss@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 207
Office hours:
Mon 1:00-3:00
Religion in the Americas, Irony and Performativity, Religion and Literature, Race and Religion more>
Photo of Nur Amali Ibrahim Nur Amali Ibrahim
Associate Professor
nai@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 201
Office hours:
on leave
(812)856-4542
Islam in the modern world, Islam in Indonesia, pedagogy and socialization, Social movements, Religion and media more>
Photo of Sarah Imhoff Sarah Imhoff
Associate Professor
seimhoff@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 223
Office hours:
Wed 1:00-2:30

Gender and American Jewish history, race and Jewishness, Rabbinic literature, American Religious history more>
Photo of Michael Ing Michael Ing
Associate Professor,
DUS
ming@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 225
Office hours:
Tues 1:30-3:00
Confucianism, Ritual Theory, Religious Ethics, Theories of Religion, Chinese Thought more>
Photo of R. Kevin Jaques R. Kevin Jaques
Associate Professor
rjaques@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 209B
Office hours:
By appt only
Islamic Studies, Religious Hermeneutics, Islamic Law and Theology, Medieval Islamic Legal History, Islam in SE Asia more>
photo of Rebecca Manring Rebecca Manring
Professor
rmanring@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 213
Office hours:
Wed 11:00-12:30
& by appt
(812) 855-6756
Asian languages and literature (Sanskrit, Bengali), religions of South Asia, formation of religious community, iconography more>
Photo of Patrick Michelson Patrick Michelson
Associate Professor
plmichel@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 333
Office hours:
Wed 1:00-3:00
Russian Orthodox thought, Modern Christian thought, European intellectual history more>
Photo of Jason Mohktarian Jason Mokhtarian
Associate Professor
jmokhtar@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 334
Office hours:
Mon 3:45-5:00
& by appt
Ancient Judaism, Rabbinics, Jews of Ancient Persia, Talmud in its Iranian Context, Ancient Iranian Studies more>
Photo of Richard Nance Richard Nance
Associate Professor
rfnance@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 221
Office hours:
Tues 2:30-4:30
Indian and Tibetan Buddhist history, philosophy, rhetoric, and ritual more>
Photo of Jeremy Schott Jeremy Schott
Professor
jmschott@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 209A
Office hours:
Mon/Wed 2:30-3:30
Religions of the Late Ancient and Byzantine Mediterranean and Near East more>
Photo of Steve Selka Stephen Selka
Associate Professor,
DGS
sselka@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 205
Office hours:
Wed 2:00-4:00; & by appt
(812)856-4554
Religion, identity, and politics, identity and social movements, Brazil and Africa diaspora, urban anthropology more>
Photo of Lisa Sideris Lisa Sideris
Professor
lsideris@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 332
Office hours: Tues 3:00-5:00
(812)856-4549
Religious environmental ethics and religion and science more>
Photo of Aaron Stalnaker Aaron Stalnaker
Associate Professor
astalnak@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 219
Office hours:
on leave
Comparative religious ethics, Chinese and Christian thought, moral philosophy, theories and philosophy of religions more>
photo of winni sullivan Winnifred F Sullivan
Provost Professor
wfsulliv@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 217
Office hours:
By appointment
Comparative study of the intersection of religion and law, Anthropology of Law, European Union law more>
photo of Sonia Velázquez Sonia Velázquez
Assistant Professor
velazqus@indiana.edu
Sycamore Hall 326
Office hours:
Tues 11:20-1:20
Relationship of beauty and holiness, Religion, secularization and modernity, Conversion narratives more>
Affiliated Faculty
Photo
Name
Contact Information
Research Areas
Photo of Asma Afsaruddin Asma Afsaruddin
Adjunct Professor
aafsarud@indiana.edu
GISB 3041
(812) 856-7347
Islamic religious and political thought, Contemporary Islamic movements, Inter-faith relations, Islamic feminism(s), more>
Photo of Jamsheed Choksy Jamsheed Choksy
Adjunct Professor
jchoksy@indiana.edu
GISB 3026

Ancient and modern Zoroastrianism, Islamic studies, history of religions more>
Photo of Daniel Conkle Daniel O. Conkle
Adjunct Professor
conkle@indiana.edu
Baier Hall, Rm. 331
Religious liberty, religion and law, the role of religion in American politics and public life more>
no pic Devin A. DeWeese
Adjunct Professor
deweese@indiana.edu
GISB 3030
(812) 855-2298
Religious history of Islamic Central and Inner Asia, Islam in Tsarist, Soviet, and post-Soviet Central Asia more>
Shannon Gayk Shannon Gayk
Adjunct Associate Professor
sgayk@indiana.edu
Ballantine Hall 468
Associate Professor, English
Director, Medieval Studies Institute
Photo of Paul Gutjahr Paul Gutjahr
Adjunct Professor
pgutjahr@indiana.edu
Ballantine Hall 470

American religious and intellectual thought, religious publishing more>
Photo of Patricia Ingham Patricia Ingham
Adjunct Professor
pingham@indiana.edu
Ballantine Hall 451
Chaucer, Arthurian legend, texts of Medieval Romance more>
Photo of Alisha Lola Jones Alisha Lola Jones
Adjunct Assistant Professor
jonesall@indiana.edu
800 E. 3rd St, Rm 241
Music and religion in the African diaspora; gender and sexuality; music industry; more>
Photo of Edward Linenthal Edward Linenthal
Adjunct Professor
etl@indiana.edu
Ballantine Hall 708
(812)855-5229
Public history, studies in American memory, contemporary American religion, religion, war, and genocide more>
photo of herbert marks Herbert Marks
Adjunct Professor
marks@indiana.edu
Ballantine Hall 992
(812) 855-7935
Biblical studies more>
Emeriti Faculty
Photo
Name
Contact Information
Research Areas
photo of jim ackerman James S. Ackerman
Professor Emeritus
ackerman@indiana.edu Religion and literature of Israel and the Ancient Near East, Bible as literature more>
photo of james hart James G. Hart
Professor Emeritus
hart@indiana.edu Phenomenology, philosophy of religion, philosophical theology more>
photo of david smith David H. Smith
Professor Emeritus
smithd@indiana.edu Religious ethics, theological ethics, medical ethics, ethics and philanthropy, teaching ethics more>
photo of stephen stein Stephen J. Stein
Chancellor's Professor Emeritus
stein@indiana.edu American religious history, early American history, new religious movements, American studies more>
photo of mary jo weaver Mary Jo Weaver
Professor Emerita
weaverm@indiana.edu American Catholicism, contemporary Christianity, women and religion, mysticism and spirituality more>