Home Holdings Research People Publications Research Visits Policies Donate

IU Paleontology Collection Contacts

[Alphabetical List of All People]


General Enquiries

Call: +1-812-856-3500
E-mail: palcoll@indiana.edu

Mailing Address:
IU Paleontology Collection c/o Gary Motz
Department of Geological Sciences

Indiana University
1001 E. 10th Street
Bloomington, IN 47405-1405


Collection Manager

Motz, Gary   +1 812-856-3500 garymotz@indiana.edu

Invertebrate paleontology, paleoecology, bivalves, quantitative analysis


Faculty Research Curators

Johnson, Claudia C.   (812) 855-0646 claudia@indiana.edu

Paleoecology of tropical reef systems; Anthozoa and Mollusca; global change and marine ecosystems.

Njau, Jackson K.   (812) 856-3170 jknjau@indiana.edu

Paleoanthropology of East Africa; Pleistocene human and vertebrate interactions; paleontology and geology of Olduvai Gorge.

Polly, P. David   (812) 855-7994 pdpolly@indiana.edu

Vertebrate paleontology; phylogenetics and functional morphology of mammals; quantitative evolution; ecometrics and responses of vertebrate communities to environmental and climatic change.


Affliated Faculty and Students

Ascari, Silvia sascari@umail.iu.edu

Affiliated Graduate Student
Paleoanthropology, paleoclimate, function morphology, vertebrate paleontology

Beyl, Alexander arbeyl@umail.iu.edu

Affiliated Undergraduate Student
Paleontology, paleobotany

Bormet, Allison akbormet@indiana.edu

Affiliated Graduate Student
Vertebrate paleontology; Artiodactyla; functional evolution of limb morphology; Cenozoic environmental change.

Dilcher, David L. (812) 855-9612 dilcher@indiana.edu

Affiliated Emeritus Faculty/Scientist
Paleobotany; evolution of flowering plants; plant-animal coevolution.

Dodd, J. Robert dodd@indiana.edu

Affiliated Emeritus Faculty/Scientist
Paleoecology and sedimentology of Neogene strata; Modern, Cenozoic, and Paleozoic tropical carbonate reef systems.

Elswick, Erika (812) 855-2493 eelswick@indiana.edu

Affiliated Faculty/Scientist
Stable isotope geochemsitry; paleoenvironments; microbial activity and rock-water interactions.

Farrugia, Paul pfarrugi@indiana.edu

Affiliated Graduate Student
Paleoanthropology; evolution of hominins in East Africa; Pleistocene reptiles.

Fuentes-Gonzalez, Jesualdo jearfuen@umail.iu.edu

Affiliated Graduate Student
Evolution and phylogeny of Carnivora, evolution of behavior, phylogenetic comparative methods.

Green, Robin M. robigree@indiana.edu

Affiliated Graduate Student
Marine paleoenvironments; corals and ostracodes.

Hattin, Donald (812) 855-8232 hattin@indiana.edu

Affiliated Emeritus Faculty/Scientist
Paleoecology of Upper Cretaceous benthic organisms; Cretaceous stratigraphy of the Western Interior Basin.

Hellert, Spencer shellert@umail.iu.edu

Affiliated Graduate Student
Vertebrate paleontology, evolution of modularity

Hensley-Marschand, Blaire bahensle@indiana.edu

Affiliated Graduate Student
Paleoanthropology and archaeology; Pleistocene mammals; Homo erectus in Asia.

Kauffman, Erle (812) 855-5154 kauffman@indiana.edu

Affiliated Emeritus Faculty/Scientist
Cretaceous environments and ecosystems; Bivalvia and Ammonoidea; high-resolution biostratigraphy.

Kearney, John kearneyj@indiana.edu

Affiliated Graduate Student
Invertebrate Paleontology, stratigraphy and sedimentology, paleoecology, Olduvai Gorge

Rexroad, Carl B. (812) 855-1350 crexroad@indiana.edu

Affiliated Emeritus Faculty/Scientist
Biostratigraphy; conodont paleontology; karst geology; fossils.

Smith, Michael micrsmit@indiana.edu

Affiliated Graduate Student
Vertebrate paleontology; Pleistocene mammals and climate change.

Steinmetz, John C. (812) 855-5067 jsteinm@indiana.edu

Affiliated Faculty/Scientist
Indiana geology; micropaleontology; biostratigraphy.

Swartz, Sarah swartz.sarahm@gmail.com

Affiliated Graduate Student
Paleoanthropology, function morphology

Zimmerman, Alex alexzimm@indiana.edu

Affiliated Graduate Student
Invertebrate paleontology, biostratigraphy, coral communities


Past Affiliates

Richard J. D. Bykowski, Affiliated Graduate Student, 2009-2015

David Grossnickle, Affiliated Graduate Student, 2011-2013

Mackenzie Kirchner-Smith, Affiliated Undergraduate Student, 2009-2013

Corbin Massa, Affiliated Undergraduate Student, 2010-2014

Katie Nold, Affiliated Graduate Student, 2007-2015

Mallory Schreier, Affiliated Undergraduate Student, 2009-2013

Emily Schultz, Affiliated Undergraduate Student, 2009-2014

Wesley Vermillion, Affiliated Graduate Student, 2010-2015


NSF Project (2009-2013)

Alexander Beyl, Undergraduate Assistant

Allison Bormet, Graduate Assistant

Richard J. D. Bykowski, Graduate Assistant

Issabella Cross-Najafi, Undergraduate Assistant

Erika Elswick, PI

Robin M. Green, Project Manager

Liam Grimley, Undergraduate Assistant

Claudia C. Johnson, PI

Mackenzie Kirchner-Smith, Undergraduate Assistant

Margaret Maier, Undergraduate Assistant

Larry Mart, Undergraduate Assistant

Corbin Massa, Undergraduate Assistant

Adrian Maxwell, Undergraduate Assistant

Katelyn Patton, Undergraduate Assistant

P. David Polly, PI

Molly Richmer, Digital archiving

Michael Richmer, Undergraduate Assistant

Alyssa Ruthkay, Undergraduate Assistant

Mallory Schreier, Undergraduate Assistant

Mackenzie Skalski,

Michael Smith, Graduate Assistant

Devin Swander, Undergraduate Assistant

Katelin Vesely, Undergraduate Assistant

Crystal Wespestad, Undergraduate Assistant