Indiana University has long recognized outstanding scholarship, artistic or literary merit, and other achievements through its distinguished and titled professorships. In fact, it leads the Big Ten in endowed professorships for faculty of special distinction. To build upon that legacy of academic and research excellence, IU President Michael A. McRobbie has expanded the university's commitment to its faculty by:

  • Raising the base salary of its Distinguished Professors and providing additional research support
  • Actively recruiting new faculty members from among the academic and research elite
  • Honoring the accomplishments of faculty with the President's Medal for Excellence

The achievements of IU faculty continue to bring worldwide recognition to the university. In December 2009, late IU professor Elinor Ostrom became the first woman to receive the Nobel Prize in Economics.